NAB Logo

Current Award Recipients

The National Association of Broadcasters (NAB) will present the Television Chairman’s Award to acclaimed two-time Emmy-winning host and actor Mario Lopez. The “Access Hollywood” host will receive the award on Tuesday, April 13 during NAB Show Premiere, available exclusively on NAB Amplify.

Presently, Lopez hosts NBC’s “Access Hollywood” and iHeartMedia’s nationwide radio shows “On With Mario Lopez,” “iHeartRadio Countdown With Mario Lopez” and boxing podcast, “The 3 Knockdown Rule.”

Lopez is a two-time Emmy Award-winning host, actor and producer. He is known for leading “Extra” for more than 10 years. Recently, he co-created and produced “The Expanding Universe of Ashley Garcia,” which centers on a Latina robotics engineer and her family, and produced and starred in “Feliz NaviDAD,” one of Lifetime Network’s highest-rated Christmas films.

“Through hard work and remarkable talent, Mario Lopez has created a unique brand that has resonated with TV audiences for decades,” said NAB Television Board Chair Emily Barr. “Likewise, his commitment and success in elevating Latinx stories in Hollywood has had a positive impact, and we are excited to recognize his achievements.”

Lopez’s additional acting credits include NBC’s “Saved by the Bell” and “This Is Us,” the CW series “Jane the Virgin,” Fox’s “Brooklyn 99” and ABC’s “The Rookie.” He has a recurring role on Disney’s animated series “Elena of Avalor” alongside his daughter.

Beyond Hollywood, Lopez is a New York Times best-selling author and was named an Alumni Ambassador of Fitness by the Boys & Girls Clubs of America. As an ambassador to the BE GREAT campaign, he promotes the importance of maintaining a healthy lifestyle and education for children of all ages.

National Association of Broadcasters
1 M Street SE
Washington, D.C. 20003
202 429 5300 |

© 2022 National Association of Broadcasters
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use

Connect With Us