NAB Logo
January 28, 2021

NAB Announces Creation of Advisory Committee Focused on Diversity, Equity and Inclusion

WASHINGTON, D.C. – The National Association of Broadcasters (NAB) today announced the creation of an advisory committee to the NAB Board of Directors that will provide insights and suggestions on diversity, equity and inclusion (DEI) issues. The committee will consist of senior-level broadcasters who are women and people of color, and may include current NAB and NAB Leadership Foundation (NABLF) board members who are committed to advancing DEI issues in broadcasting.

The DEI Advisory Committee will assess the broadcast radio and television industries’ diversity and inclusion efforts and advise NAB and NABLF boards on strategies, initiatives and partnerships to increase the effectiveness of these efforts. The committee will also support NAB staff advocacy efforts at the Federal Communications Commission and in Congress on diversity-related issues. In addition, the committee will identify a diverse group of industry experts on various topics for NAB conferences and speaking engagements.

“NAB is committed to ensuring diverse voices are represented in radio and television broadcasting and that every employee has the opportunity to excel in their career,” said NABLF President and NAB Chief Diversity Officer Michelle Duke. “This new committee will help NAB continue moving diversity and equity forward, and provide guidance for the broadcast community in creating a more inclusive workplace.”

Last summer, NABLF created the Diversity, Equity and Inclusion Resource Center, a website dedicated to helping media companies and industry professionals create and sustain a diverse and inclusive workplace. NAB is also advocating for congressional passage of a tax certificate program that would provide a financial incentive to those who sell their majority interest in a broadcast station to minorities.

DEI Advisory Committee members will serve a two-year term with one opportunity to renew. They will participate in NAB’s board development training designed to enhance board leadership skills and prepare committee members to become successful directors.

The inaugural members of the DEI Advisory Committee are:

Sandy Breland
Senior Vice President, Local Media
Gray Television

Trila Bumstead
Ohana Media Group

Caroline Chambers
Senior Director, Diversity
Graham Media Group

Estevan Gonzales
General Manager/Owner
KSWV Radio

Corey Hanson
General Manager
WALA – Mobile, AL
Meredith Local Media Group 

Michele Laven – Chair
Chief Diversity Officer/Chief Human Resources Officer

Alysia Long
VP and Associate General Counsel, Regulatory
Cox Media Group

DuJuan McCoy
Owner, President & CEO
Circle City Broadcasting

Heidi Raphael
Chief Communications Officer
Beasley Media Group

Oscar Rodriguez
Texas Association of Broadcasters

Sharon Tinsley
Alabama Association of Broadcasters

Grady Tripp
Chief Diversity Officer

Joel Vilmenay
General Manager
WDSU – New Orleans, LA
Hearst Television

About NAB

The National Association of Broadcasters is the premier advocacy association for America's broadcasters. NAB advances radio and television interests in legislative, regulatory and public affairs. Through advocacy, education and innovation, NAB enables broadcasters to best serve their communities, strengthen their businesses and seize new opportunities in the digital age. Learn more at

National Association of Broadcasters
1 M Street SE
Washington, D.C. 20003
202 429 5300 |

© 2024 National Association of Broadcasters
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use

Connect With Us