NAB Logo
June 26, 2009

NAB Statement on Senate Confirmations of Genachowski, McDowell and Strickling

WASHINGTON, DC -- Late yesterday the U.S. Senate confirmed President Obama's nomination of Julius Genachowski as chairman of the Federal Communications Commission. The Senate also confirmed the President's renomination of Robert McDowell as FCC Commissioner and nomination of Larry Strickling as head of the Commerce Department's National Telecommunications and Information Administration.

NAB Executive Vice President Dennis Wharton issued this statement regarding their confirmations:

"NAB salutes the Senate for confirming Julius Genachowski as the new FCC chairman and for granting a second term to Commissioner McDowell. We are also pleased that Larry Strickling has been confirmed as head of the NTIA. President Obama could not have picked three more qualified candidates for these critically important public policy positions, and NAB looks forward to working with all of them on behalf of America's free and local radio and television stations."

About NAB
The National Association of Broadcasters is the premier advocacy association for America's broadcasters. As the voice of more than 8,300 radio and television stations, NAB advances their interests in legislative, regulatory and public affairs. Through advocacy, education and innovation, NAB enables broadcasters to best serve their communities, strengthen their businesses and seize new opportunities in the digital age. Learn more at

National Association of Broadcasters
1 M Street SE
Washington, D.C. 20003
202 429 5300 |

© 2022 National Association of Broadcasters
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use

Connect With Us