NAB Logo
February 5, 2008
Dennis Wharton
follow me

NAB Board Forms Low Power TV Committee

WASHINGTON, DC – NAB today announced the formation of a Low Power TV Issues Committee. The committee, formed during the NAB Joint Board of Directors meeting in Washington last week, will be chaired by NAB Television Board member John Kueneke, broadcast division president for St. Louis-based News-Press & Gazette Broadcasting.

The committee is charged with addressing issues related to the digital TV transition's impact on viewing of low power television stations and TV translators. The NAB Television Board last week adopted a resolution aimed at educating TV stations and viewers on the DTV transition's impact on LPTV stations and TV translators. The TV Board also directed NAB President and CEO David K. Rehr to prepare a letter to DTV converter box manufacturers urging them to incorporate "analog pass through" capability in their DTV converter box products.

Committee members include Jim Conschafter, senior vice president of broadcast stations for Media General Broadcast Group; John Eck, president of NBC TV Network and Media Works; Andrew Fisher, president of Cox Television; Douglas Kranwinkle, executive vice president of law for Univision Communications; and Jim Yager, CEO of Barrington Broadcasting Group.

About NAB
The National Association of Broadcasters is a trade association that advocates on behalf of more than 8,300 free, local radio and television stations and also broadcast networks before Congress, the Federal Communications Commission and the Courts. Information about NAB can be found at


National Association of Broadcasters
1 M Street SE
Washington, D.C. 20003
202 429 5300 |

© 2024 National Association of Broadcasters
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use

Connect With Us