NAB Logo
September 22, 2006
Dennis Wharton
follow me

NAB Marconi Radio Award Winners Announced

DALLAS - Winners of the 2006 National Association of Broadcasters Marconi Radio Awards were announced Thursday night at the annual NAB Marconi Radio Awards Dinner & Show sponsored by HD Radio. The event was held in conjunction with The NAB Radio Show in Dallas.

Established in 1989, and named after inventor and Nobel Prize winner Guglielmo Marconi, the NAB Marconi Radio Awards are given to radio stations and outstanding on-air personalities to recognize excellence in radio. An independent task force selected finalists and ballots were sent to members of the NAB Marconi Radio Awards Selection Academy in August. The ballots were tabulated by an independent accounting firm.

This year's NAB Marconi Radio Award recipients are:

Legendary Station
WBEB-FM Philadelphia
AC Station of the Year
KOIT-FM San Francisco
Network/Syndicated Personality of the Year
Bob & Tom, Premiere Radio Networks
CHR Station of the Year
WSTW-FM Wilmington, DE
Major Market Station of the Year
KGO-AM San Francisco
Country Station of the Year
KYGO-FM Denver, CO
Large Market Station of the Year
WEEI-AM Boston, MA
News/Talk Station of the Year
KGO-AM San Francisco
Medium Market Station of the Year
WIVK-FM Knoxville, TN
Oldies Station of the Year
WMJI-FM Cleveland
Small Market Station of the Year
KGMI-AM Bellingham, WA
Religious Station of the Year
Major Market Personality of the Year
Scott Slade, WSB-AM Atlanta
Rock Station of the Year
WEBN-FM Cincinnati
Large Market Personality of the Year
Tom Barnard, KQRS-FM Minneapolis
Spanish Station of the Year
KSCA-FM Los Angeles
Medium Market Personalities of the Year
Brent Johnson, WTCB-FM Columbia, SC
Sports Station of the Year
WEEI-AM Boston
Small Market Personality of the Year
Lacy Neff, WVAQ-FM Morgantown, WV
Urban Station of the Year
WGCI-FM Chicago
Spanish Format Personality of the Year
Eddie "Piolin" Sotelo, KSCA-FM Los Angeles

Los Angeles radio personality Big Boy, host of "Big Boy's Neighborhood" on Emmis Communications' Power 106, served as master of ceremonies during The NAB Marconi Radio Awards Dinner & Show. The evening's events also included a performance by the broadcaster band The Formats," with BMI songwriter Steve Cropper and featuring FCC Commissioner Jonathan Adelstein on harmonica.

About The NAB Radio Show
The NAB Radio Show is the largest annual convention for radio. This year's show, Sep. 20 - 22 in Dallas, features interactive sessions, special events and exhibits and is co-located with the R&R Convention. More information about The NAB Radio Show is available here.

>About NAB
The National Association of Broadcasters is a trade association that advocates on behalf of more than 8,300 free, local radio and television stations and also broadcast networks before Congress, the Federal Communications Commission and the Courts. Information about NAB can be found at


National Association of Broadcasters
1 M Street SE
Washington, D.C. 20003
202 429 5300 |

© 2024 National Association of Broadcasters
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use

Connect With Us