NAB Logo
July 17, 2006
Dennis Wharton
follow me

NAB Marconi Radio Awards Finalist Announced

WASHINGTON, DC - NAB announced today the finalists for the NAB Marconi Radio Awards honoring outstanding radio stations and on-air personalities. The winners in each category will be announced on September 21 at the NAB Marconi Radio Awards Dinner & Show held during The NAB Radio Show in Dallas.

This year's Marconi Radio Awards will feature two new categories, Spanish Format Personality of the Year and Sports Station of the Year. The finalists are:

Legendary Station
KLOS-FM Los Angeles, CA
KQRS-FM Minneapolis, MN
KSL-AM Salt Lake City, UT
KSTP-FM Minneapolis, MN
WBEB-FM Philadelphia, PA

Network Syndicated Personality of the Year
Bob & Tom, Premiere Radio Networks
Tom Joyner, Reach Media
Kidd Kraddick, Premiere Radio Networks
Mark & Brian, KLOS Syndications
Satellite Sisters, ABC Radio Networks

Major Market Station of the Year
KBFB-FM Dallas, TX
KGO-AM San Francisco, CA
KTRH-AM Houston, TX
WGMS-FM Washington, DC
WHUR-FM Washington, DC

Large Market Station of the Year
KBZT-FM San Diego, CA
WALK-FM Long Island, NY
WEEI-AM Boston, MA
WGAR-FM Cleveland, OH

Medium Market Station of the Year
KKOB-AM Albuquerque, NM
KLBJ-AM Austin, TX
WFMS-FM Indianapolis, IN
WIVK-FM Knoxville, TN
WSNY-FM Columbus, OH

Small Market Station of the Year
KGMI-AM Bellingham, WA
KMBQ-FM Wasilla, AK
WCHS-AM Charleston, WV
WYCT-FM Pensacola, FL

Major Market Personality of the Year
Dunham, Miller & Keith, KTCK-AM Dallas, TX
Madd Hatta, KBXX-FM Houston, TX
John & Ken, KFI-AM Los Angeles, CA
Scott Slade, WSB-AM Atlanta, GA
Joseph “Butterball” Tamburro, WDAS-FM Philadelphia, PA

Large Market Personality of the Year
Tom Barnard, KQRS-FM Minneapolis, MN
Peter Boyles, KHOW-AM Denver, CO
Chuck Collier, WGAR-FM Cleveland, OH
Kelly, Jonathan & Mudflap, KYGO-FM, Denver, CO
Mike Trivisonno, WTAM-AM Cleveland, OH

Medium Market Personality of the Year
Bob Conners, WTVN-AM Columbus, OH
Scott Innes, WYNK-FM Baton Rouge, LA
Brent Johnson, WTCB-FM Columbia, SC
Dave Kaelin & Jimmy Jam, WNCI-FM Columbus, OH
Todd & Tyler, KEZO-FM Omaha, NE

Small Market Personality of the Year
Mark Clark, KRCH-FM Rochester, MN
Alan Clepper, KOFM-FM Enid, OK
Joe Daily, WRNQ-FM Poughkeepsie, NY
Mitch Johnson, WCRE-AM Cheraw, SC
Lacy Neff, WVAQ-FM Morgantown, WV

Spanish Format Personality of the Year
Carlos Alvarez, KLVE-FM Los Angeles, CA
Jose Gadea, KLNV-FM San Diego, CA
Joaquin Garza, KHHL-FM Austin, TX
Eddie “Piolin” Sotelo, KSCA-FM Los Angeles, CA
Hector Velasquez, KDXX-FM Dallas, TX

AC Station of the Year
KESZ-FM Phoenix, AZ
KOIT-FM San Francisco, CA
KOST-FM Los Angeles, CA
WLHT-FM Grand Rapids, MI
WSNY-FM Columbus, OH

CHR Station of the Year
KHKS-FM Dallas, TX
KIIS-FM Los Angeles, CA
KQKS-FM Denver, CO
KRBE-FM Houston, TX
WSTW-FM Wilmington, DE

Country Station of the Year
KNIX-FM Phoenix, AZ
KYGO-FM Denver, CO
KYKX-FM Longview, TX
KZLA-FM Los Angeles, CA
WMIL-FM Milwaukee, WI

News/Talk Station of the Year
KFI-AM Los Angeles, CA
KGO-AM San Francisco, CA
KLBJ-AM Austin, TX
KSL-AM Salt Lake City, UT
KTRH-AM Houston, TX

Oldies Station of the Year
WCRE-AM Cheraw, SC
WGHT-AM Pompton Lakes, NJ
WJLT-FM Evansville, IN
WMJI-FM Cleveland, OH
WWSW-FM Pittsburgh, PA

Religious Station of the Year
KFSH-FM Los Angeles, CA
WFIA-FM Louisville, KY
WGNR-FM Indianapolis, IN
WVEL-AM Peoria, IL

Rock Station of the Year
KBZT-FM San Diego, CA
KQRS-FM Minneapolis, MN
WAPL-FM Appleton, WI
WEBN-FM Cincinnati, OH
WGLO-FM Peoria, IL

Spanish Station of the Year
KHHL-FM Austin, TX
KSCA-FM Los Angeles, CA
KSSE-FM Los Angeles
KTTA-FM Sacramento, CA

Sports Station of the Year
KFAN-AM Minneapolis, MN
KTCK-AM Dallas, TX
KWEB-AM Rochester, MN
WEEI-AM Boston, MA
WNML-AM Knoxville, TN

Urban Station of the Year
KBLX-FM San Francisco, CA
WDAS-FM Philadelphia, PA
WGCI-FM Chicago, IL
WHUR-FM Washington, DC
WKYS-FM Washington, DC

Established in 1989, and named after inventor and Nobel Prize winner Guglielmo Marconi, the NAB Marconi Radio Awards are given to radio stations and outstanding on-air personalities to recognize excellence in radio. An independent task force selected finalists in 22 categories. Ballots will be sent to members of the NAB Marconi Radio Awards Selection Academy later this month.

About The NAB Radio Show
The NAB Radio Show is the largest annual convention for radio. This year's show, Sep. 20 - 22 in Dallas, features interactive sessions, special events and exhibits and is co-located with the R&R Convention. More information about The NAB Radio Show is available here.

About NAB
The National Association of Broadcasters is a trade association that advocates on behalf of more than 8,300 free, local radio and television stations and also broadcast networks before Congress, the Federal Communications Commission and the Courts. Information about NAB can be found at


National Association of Broadcasters
1 M Street SE
Washington, D.C. 20003
202 429 5300 |

© 2023 National Association of Broadcasters
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use

Connect With Us