NAB Logo
March 13, 2006
Dennis Wharton
follow me

NAB Crystal Radio Awards Finalists Announced

WASHINGTON, DC - The National Association of Broadcasters announced the 50 finalists for the 2006 Crystal Radio Awards competition today. Since 1987, the NAB Crystal Radio Awards have recognized radio stations for their outstanding year-round commitment to community service.

This year's finalists are:

KCVM-FM Cedar Falls, IA

WGHT-AM Pompton Lakes, NJ

KFOG-FM San Francisco, CA

WHAI-FM Greenfield, MA

KGO-AM San Francisco, CA

WHIZ-AM Zanesville, OH

KHOW-AM Denver, CO

WHUR-FM Washington, DC

KIOA-FM Des Moines, IA

WIBC-AM Indianapolis, IN

KLVI-AM Beaumont, TX

WILV-FM Chicago, IL

KMOX-AM St. Louis, MO

WIVK-FM Knoxville, TN

KOZT-FM Fort Bragg, CA

WIZM-AM La Crosse, WI

KPPV-FM Prescott Valley, AZ

WJJY-FM Brainerd, MN

KPRS-FM Kansas City, MO

WJON-AM St. Cloud, MN

KQRS-FM Minneapolis, MN

WLHT-FM Grand Rapids, MI

KRBE-FM Houston, TX

WMRN-AM Marion, OH

KRSP-FM Salt Lake City, UT

WPHI-FM Philadelphia, PA

KSL-AM Salt Lake City, UT

WQCS-FM Fort Pierce, FL

KTOZ-FM Springfield, MO



WRVW-FM Nashville, TN

KUDL-FM Kansas City, MO


KUZZ Bakersfield, CA

WSTR-FM Atlanta, GA

KVAK-AM Valdez, AK

WTAM-AM Cleveland, OH

KVET-FM Austin, TX

WTLC-FM Indianapolis, IN

KZBR-FM San Francisco, CA

WTMJ-AM Milwaukee, WI

WBEB-FM Philadelphia, PA

WTUZ-FM Uhrichsville, OH


WWWQ-FM Atlanta, GA

WDRV-FM Chicago, IL

WXKS-FM Medford, MA

WFBQ-FM Indianapolis, IN

WYLD-FM New Orleans, LA

Crystal Radio Award finalists were chosen by a panel of judges representing broadcasting, community service organizations and public relations firms. Finalists will be honored and winners announced at the Radio Luncheon, Tuesday, April 25, during NAB2006 in Las Vegas.

The Radio Luncheon will feature a keynote address by Walt Mossberg, technology columnist for The Wall Street Journal.  Dick Purtan, legendary host of Oldies 104.3 WOMC Detroit’s "Morning Show with Purtan’s People," will be inducted into the NAB Broadcasting Hall of Fame as well. The luncheon will be sponsored by ASCAP.

NAB2006 will take place April 22-27, 2006 in Las Vegas (exhibits open April 24). It is the world's largest electronic media show covering the development, delivery and management of professional video and audio content across all mediums.

The National Association of Broadcasters is a trade association that advocates on behalf of more than 8,300 free, local radio and television stations and also broadcast networks before Congress, the Federal Communications Commission and the Courts. Information about NAB can be found at


National Association of Broadcasters
1 M Street SE
Washington, D.C. 20003
202 429 5300 |

© 2024 National Association of Broadcasters
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use

Connect With Us