

## NAB ENGINEERING ACHIEVEMENT AWARD WINNERS

1959–March 18	John T. Wilner, Vice President of Engineering, Hearst Corporation, Baltimore, Maryland.
1960–April 6	Commissioner T. A. M. Craven, Federal Communications Commission, Washington, District of Columbia.
1961–May 10	Raymond F. Guy, Consultant.
1962–April 4	Ralph N. Harmon, Vice President for Engineering, Westinghouse Broadcasting Co., New York, New York.
1963–April 3	Dr. George R. Town, Dean of Engineering, Iowa State University, Ames, Iowa.
1964–April 8	John H. DeWitt, Jr., President, WSM, Inc., Nashville, Tennessee.
1965-March 24	Edward W. Allen, Jr., Chief Engineer, Federal Communications Commission, Washington, District of Columbia.
1966-March 30	Carl J. Meyers, Senior Vice President and Director of Engineering, WGN Continental Broadcasting Co., Chicago, Illinois.
1967–April 5	Robert M. Morris, Staff Consultant, Engineering Department, American Broadcasting Company, New York, New York.
1968–April 3	Howard A. Chinn, Director, General Engineering, CBS Television Network, New York, New York.
1969-March 30	Jarrett L. Hathaway, Senior Project Engineer, NBC Television Network, New York, New York.
1970–April 7	Philip Whitney, General Manager, WINC, Winchester, Virginia, and Supervisory Engineer for Richard F. Lewis radio stations.
1971-March 30	Benjamin Wolfe, Vice President–Engineering, Post–Newsweek Stations, Washington, District of Columbia.
1972–April 11	John M. Sherman, Director of Engineering, WCCO, Minneapolis, Minnesota.

## NAB Engineering Achievement Award Winners Page 2

1973-March 27	A. James Ebel, President and General Manager, KOLN-TV, Lincoln, Nebraska.
1974–March 19	Joseph B. Epperson, Vice President–Engineering, Scripps–Howard Broadcasting Co., Cleveland, Ohio.
1975–April 6	John D. Silva, Director, Research and Development, Golden West Broadcasters, Los Angeles, California.
1976-March 22	Dr. Frank G. Kear, Consulting Engineer, Washington, District of Columbia.
1977–March 29	Daniel H. Smith, Senior Vice President for Engineering, Capital Cities Communications, Inc., Philadelphia, Pennsylvania.
1978–April 11	John A. Moseley, President, Moseley Associates, Inc., Goleta, California.
1979–March 27	Robert W. Flanders, Vice President & Director of Engineering, McGraw-Hill Broadcasting Co., Inc., Indianapolis, Indiana.
1980–April 15	James D. Parker, Staff Consultant, Telecommunications, CBS Television Network, New York, New York.
1981–April 14	Wallace E. Johnson, Executive Director, Association for Broadcast Engineering Standards, Washington, District of Columbia.
1982–April 13	Julius Barnathan, President, Broadcast Operations and Engineering, American Broadcasting Companies, Inc., New York, New York.
1983–April 12	Joseph Flaherty, Vice President, Technology, CBS Inc., New York, New York.
1984–May 1	Otis S. Freeman, Vice President & Director of Engineering, WPIX, Inc., Tribune Broadcasting, New York, New York.
1985–April 16	Carl E. Smith, President, Smith Electronics, Cleveland, Ohio.
1986–April 15	Dr. George Brown, RCA Laboratories, Princeton, New Jersey.
1987-March 29	Renville H. McMann, CBS Technology Center, Stamford, Connecticut.
1988–April 4	Jules Cohen, Jules Cohen and Associates, Washington, District of Columbia.
1989–April 29	William Connolly, President, Sony Advanced Systems, Montvale, New Jersey.
1990–April 3	Hilmer Swanson, Senior Staff Scientist, Harris Corporation, Broadcast Division, Quincy, Illinois.

## NAB Engineering Achievement Award Winners Page 3

1991–April 6	George Marti, President and CEO, Marti Electronics, Cleburne, Texas, (Radio); and Kerns Powers, David Sarnoff and NBC Consultant, Princeton, New Jersey (Television).
1992–April 15	Edward Edison and Robert L. Hammett (D), Hammett & Edison, San Francisco, California (Radio); James C. McKinney, Chairman, Advanced Television Systems Committee, Washington, District of Columbia, (Television). (Robert Hammett deceased)
1993–April 21	Stanley N. Baron, Managing Director, Technical Development, NBC, New York, New York, (TV); Herb H. Schubarth, Vice President of Engineering, Gannett Broadcasting, Denver, Colorado, (Engineering Service); Robert M. Silliman, Silliman and Silliman, Silver Spring, Maryland, (Radio)(D).
1994–March 23	Thomas J. Vaughan, President, PESA Micro Communications, Inc., Manchester, New Hampshire, (TV); Charles T. Morgan, Vice President and Director of Engineering, Susquehanna Radio Corporation, York, Pennsylvania, (Radio).
1995–April 12	Carl G. Eilers, Manager of Electronic Systems R&D, Zenith Electronics, Glenview, Illinois, (TV); Robert Orban, Chief Engineer, AKG Acoustics, Inc. San Leandro, California, (Radio).
1996–April 17	Ogden Prestholdt, A.D. Ring & Associates, Nakomis, Florida, (Radio)(D); Charles Rhodes, Advanced Television Test Center, Alexandria, Virginia, (TV); Gerald Robinson, Hearst Broadcasting, Milwaukee, Wisconsin (Service to Broadcast Engineering).
1997–April 9	George Jacobs, George Jacobs & Associates, Silver Spring, Maryland (Radio); Michael Sherlock, NBC, New York, New York (Television).
1998– April 8	John Battison, P.E., John Battison, Consultant, Loudonville, Ohio (Radio); Robert Hopkins, Sony Pictures High Definition Center, Culver City, California (Television).
1999–April 21	Geoffrey Mendenhall, P.E. Harris Corporation, Quincy, Illinois (Radio); John Turner, Turner Engineering, Mountain Lakes, New Jersey (Television).
2000–April 14	Michael Dorrough, Dorrough Electronics, Woodland Hills, California (Radio); Max Berry, Capital Cities/ABC (retired) Elkins Park, Pennsylvania (Television).
2001–April 25	Arno Meyer, Belar Electronics Laboratory, Devon, Pennsylvania (Radio); Larry Thorpe, Sony Electronics, Inc., Park Ridge, New Jersey (Television).
2002–April 10	Paul Schafer, Schafer International, Bonita, California (Radio); Bernard Lechner, Consultant, Princeton, New Jersey (Television).

## NAB Engineering Achievement Award Winners Page 4

2003-April 9	John W. Reiser, FCC (Retired), Mt. Vernon, VA (Radio); Robert P. Eckert, FCC, Washington, DC (Television).
2004-April 21	Ira Goldstone, Tribune Broadcasting, Los Angeles, CA (Television); E. Glynn Walden, Infinity Broadcasting, New York, NY, (Radio)
2005-April 18	Oded Bendov, TV Transmission Antenna Group, Inc., Cherry Hill, NJ (Television); Milford Smith, Greater Media, Inc., East Brunswick, NJ (Radio)
2006-April	Benjamin Dawson, Hatfield and Dawson, Seattle, WA; Ronald Rackley, du Treil, Lundin and Rackley, Inc., Sarasota FL (Radio) S. Merrill Weiss, Merrill Weiss Group LLC, Metuchen, NJ (Television)
2007-April	Victor Tawil, Association for Maximum Service Television, Washington, DC (Television); Louis A. King, Kintronic Laboratories, Inc., Bristol, TN (Radio)
2008 – April	Thomas B. Silliman, Electronics Research, Inc., Chandler, IN (Radio); Antoon Uyttendaele, ABC Inc., New York, NY (Television)