

March 22, 2019

Honorable Jerrold Nadler Chairman House Judiciary Committee 2132 Rayburn House Office Building Washington, DC 20515 Honorable Doug Collins Ranking Member House Judiciary Committee 1504 Longworth House Office Building Washington, DC 20515

Dear Chairman Nadler and Ranking Member Collins:

We write to express opposition to any effort to reauthorize the Copyright Act's section 119 compulsory license for satellite retransmission of broadcast distant signals.

The Copyright Alliance is a non-profit, non-partisan public interest and educational organization representing the copyright interests of over 1.8 million individual creators and over 13,000 organizations in the United States, across the spectrum of copyright disciplines. The Copyright Alliance is dedicated to advocating policies that promote and preserve the value of copyright and to protecting the rights of creators and innovators. The individual creators and organizations that we represent rely on copyright law to protect their creativity, efforts, and investments in the creation and distribution of new copyrighted works for the public to enjoy.

As the unified voice of the copyright community, representing the interests of individuals and organizations across the spectrum of copyright disciplines, the Copyright Alliance has a longstanding position generally disfavoring compulsory licenses because they represent an exception to the exclusive rights of copyright holders to determine the means of distribution for their creative works. The compulsory license for satellite retransmission of broadcast television distant signals, found in 17 USC § 119, was created by Congress in 1988 to foster competition in the video marketplace, and it has been reauthorized five times since then. The section 119 license is set to expire at the end of this year, and the Copyright Alliance does not support any further reauthorization of the license.

Audiences have never had as many options for watching movies, television shows, sports, and other original audiovisual programs. Creating audiovisual works with high production values is an expensive proposition, whether you are an independent documentarian, a major motion picture studio, a television production company, or sports league. The technologies and business models underlying the video industry are evolving daily and at an ever-increasing pace, leading to more flexible options for creators and consumers. This experimentation is healthy and spurs the development of other delivery systems.

The ability to exercise copyright's exclusive rights through licensing is fundamental to



unlocking copyright's full potential, and allows artists to create and distribute their works how they see fit, entrepreneurs to innovate, and markets to operate in this burgeoning environment. The Copyright Alliance believes that creators are most fairly compensated when there are no distortions in the marketplace. We recognize that the licensing marketplace for broadcast television programming is very complex, involving a number of regulatory and statutory provisions spanning the Communications Act and Copyright Act, but that alone is not a compelling reason to retain the compulsory license in section 119. In keeping with our dedication to advocating policies that promote and preserve the value of copyright, we do not support extending the section 119 license.

Sincerely,

Keith Kupferschmid

CEO

Copyright Alliance

cc:

Rep.	Mary	Gay	Scanlon
------	------	-----	---------

Rep. Zoe Lofgren

Rep. Sheila Jackson Lee

Rep. Steve Cohen

Rep. Henry C. Johnson

Rep. Theodore E. Deutch

Rep. Karen Bass

Rep. Cedric L. Richmond

Rep. Hakeem S. Jeffries

Rep. David N. Cicilline

Rep. Eric Swalwell

Rep. Ted Lieu

Rep. Jamie Raskin

Rep. Pramila Jayapal

Rep. Val Butler Demings

Rep. J. Luis Correa

Rep. F. James Sensenbrenner

Rep. Steve Chabot

Rep. Louie Gohmert

Rep. Jim Jordan

Rep. Ken Buck

Rep. John Ratcliffe

Rep. John Ratellin

Rep. Martha Roby

Rep. Matt Gaetz

Rep. Mike Johnson

Rep. Andy Biggs

Rep. Tom McClintock

Rep. Debbie Lesko

Rep. Guy Reschenthaler

Rep. Ben Cline

Rep. Kelly Armstrong

Rep. W. Gregory Steube



Rep. Sylvia R. Garcia

Rep. Joe Neguse

Rep. Lucy McBath

Rep. Greg Stanton

Rep. Madeleine Dean

Rep. Debbie Mucarsel-Powell

Rep. Veronica Escobar