Asleep at the Wheel

Asleep at the Wheel

Ray Benson founded Asleep at the Wheel in Paw Paw, West Virginia in 1970. Now based in Austin, the band holds 10 Grammy Awards, 20 studio albums and 20 singles on the Billboard country charts. The band is best known for songs like “Route 66,” “Boogie Back to Texas,” “Take Me Back to Tulsa" and “The Letter That Johnny Walker Read.”

Currently traveling as an eight-piece band, recent additions Katy Shore, Dennis Ludiker, Connor Forsyth and Josh Hoag have instilled a newfound energy and style into Asleep at the Wheel. The Grammy Award-winning “Still The King: Celebrating the Music of Bob Wills and His Texas Playboys” is the band’s most recent release and marks their third full-length Bob Wills tribute album, honoring the legendary Western swing artist.


© 2017 National Association of Broadcasters