To reporters covering the television industry:

I thought you might find of interest this list of lawmakers, regulators and consumer rights groups that have joined with NAB in opposing the FCC's proposal to reverse the presumption of whether the pay TV industry is "effectively competitive" in each market:

Intergovernmental Advisory Committee to the FCC
House Energy and Commerce Committee Ranking Member Frank Pallone (D-NJ)
Sens. Al Franken (MN), Amy Klobuchar (MN), Jeff Merkley (OR), Edward Markey (MA), Ron Wyden (OR), Bernie Sanders (VT), Jack Reed (RI), Tom Udall (NM), Sheldon Whitehouse (RI), Sherrod Brown (OH), Tammy Baldwin (WI), Martin Heinrich (NM) and Elizabeth Warren (MA)
Senate Judiciary Committee Ranking Member Patrick Leahy (D-VT)
Former FCC Commissioner Michael Copps
Alliance for Community Media
American Community Television
Common Cause
Consumer Action
The Hispanic Institute
Massachusetts Department of Telecommunications and Cable

Media Alliance and The Greenlining Institute
Montgomery County

National Association of Black Owned Broadcasters
National Association of State Utility Consumer Advocates

National Association of Telecommunications Officers and Advisors
National Hispanic Media Coalition
New Jersey Board of Public Utilities Office of Cable Television
New Jersey Division of Rate Counsel
Northern Dakota County Cable Conununications Commission

Public Knowledge
United Church of Christ, Office of Communication

Those that have joined with NCTA, ACA and other pay-TV interests in support of the FCC's proposal are:

Rep. Anna Eshoo (D-CA) and Steve Scalise (R-LA)
The Free State Foundation

For more information about this issue and the effect the FCC's adoption of this proposal would have on the the ability of pay-TV companies to raise rates on consumers, please see this Bloomberg article.


Dennis Wharton
Executive Vice President, Communications

National Association of Broadcasters
1771 N Street NW
Washington, DC 20036
Phone: 202 429 5350