

NAB ENGINEERING ACHIEVEMENT AWARD WINNERS 1959–2016

2016

RADIO

Andrew Laird, Journal Broadcast Group, Milwaukee, Wis.

TELEVISION

Richard Chernock, Triveni Digital, Princeton, N.J.

2015

RADIO

Thomas F. King, Kintronic Labs, Bristol, Tenn.

TELEVISION

Richard Friedel, Fox Networks Engineering and Operations, Los Angeles, Calif.

SERVICE TO BROADCAST ENGINEERING

Ray Conover, Hubbard Broadcasting, St. Paul, Minn.

2014

RADIO

Jeff Littlejohn, Clear Channel Media and Entertainment, Cincinnati, Ohio

TELEVISION

Robert Seidel, CBS, New York, N.Y.

2013

RADIO

Frank Foti, Telos Alliance, Cleveland, Ohio

TELEVISION

Jay Adrick, GatesAir, Mason, Ohio

SERVICE TO BROADCAST ENGINEERING

Leonard J. Charles, Morgan Murphy Media, Madison, Wisc.

2012

RADIC

Paul Brenner, Emmis Communications, Indianapolis, Ind.

TELEVISION

Glenn Reitmeier, NBCUniversal, New York, N.Y.

2011

RADIO

L. Robert du Treil, du Treil, Lundin & Rackley, Inc., Sarasota, Fla.

TELEVISION

Thomas B. Keller, Renowned Television Technology Innovator

2010

RADIO

Steve Church, Telos Systems, Cleveland, Ohio

TELEVISION

Mark Richer, ATSC, Washington, D.C.

2009

RADIO

Jack Sellmeyer, Sellmeyer Engineering, Lucas, Texas

TELEVISION

Sterling Davis, Cox Broadcasting, Atlanta, Ga.

2008

RADIO

Thomas B. Silliman, Electronics Research, Inc., Chandler, Ind.

TELEVISION

Antoon Uyttendaele, ABC Inc., New York, N.Y.

2007

RADIO

Louis A. King, Kintronic Laboratories, Inc., Bristol, Tenn.

TELEVISION

Victor Tawil, Association for Maximum Service Television, Washington, D.C.

2006

RADIO

Benjamin Dawson, Hatfield and Dawson, Seattle, Wash.; Ronald Rackley, du Treil, Lundin and Rackley, Inc., Sarasota Fla.

TELEVISION

S. Merrill Weiss, Merrill Weiss Group LLC, Metuchen, N.J.

2005

RADIO

Milford Smith, Greater Media, Inc., East Brunswick, N.J.

TELEVISION

Oded Bendov, TV Transmission Antenna Group, Inc., Cherry Hill, N.J.

2004

RADIO

Glynn Walden, CBS Radio, Philadelphia, Pa.

TELEVISION

Ira Goldstone, Tribune Broadcasting, Los Angeles, Calif.

2003

RADIC

John W. Reiser, Federal Communications Commission (Retired), Mt. Vernon, Va.

TELEVISION

Robert P. Eckert, Federal Communications Commission, Washington, D.C.

2002

RADIO

Paul Schafer, Schafer International, Bonita, Calif.

TELEVISION

Bernard Lechner, Consultant, Princeton, N.J.

2001

RADIO

Arno Meyer, Belar Electronics Laboratory, Devon, Pa.

TELEVISION

Larry Thorpe, Sony Electronics, Inc., Park Ridge, N.J.

2000

RADIC

Michael Dorrough, Dorrough Electronics, Woodland Hills, Calif.

TELEVISION

Max Berry, Capital Cities/ABC (retired) Elkins Park, Pa.

1999

RADIO

Geoffrey Mendenhall, P.E. Harris Corporation, Quincy, Ill.

TELEVISION

John Turner, Turner Engineering, Mountain Lakes, N.J.

1998

RADIO

John Battison, P.E., John Battison, Consultant, Loudonville, Ohio

TELEVISION

Robert Hopkins, Sony Pictures High Definition Center, Culver City, Calif.

1997

RADIO

George Jacobs, George Jacobs & Associates, Silver Spring, Md.

TELEVISION

Michael Sherlock, NBC, New York, N.Y.

1996

RADIO

Ogden Prestholdt, A.D. Ring & Associates, Nakomis, Fla.

TELEVISION

Charles Rhodes, Advanced Television Test Center, Alexandria, Va.

SERVICE TO BROADCAST ENGINEERING

Gerald Robinson, Hearst Broadcasting, Milwaukee, Wisc.

1995

RADIO

Robert Orban, Chief Engineer, AKG Acoustics, Inc. San Leandro, Calif.

TELEVISION

Carl G. Eilers, Manager of Electronic Systems R&D, Zenith Electronics, Glenview, III.

1994

RADIO

Charles T. Morgan, Susquehanna Radio Corporation, York, Pa.

TELEVISION

Thomas J. Vaughan, PESA Micro Communications, Inc., Manchester, N.H.

1993

RADIO

Robert M. Silliman, Silliman and Silliman, Silver Spring, Md.

TELEVISION

Stanley N. Baron, Technical Development, NBC, New York, N.Y.

SERVICE TO BROADCAST ENGINEERING

Herb H. Schubarth, Gannett Broadcasting, Denver, Colo.

1992

RADIO

Edward Edison and Robert L. Hammett, Hammett & Edison, San Francisco, Calif.

TELEVISION

James C. McKinney, Chairman, Advanced Television Systems Committee, Washington, D.C.

1991

RADIO

George Marti, Marti Electronics, Cleburne, Texas

TELEVISION

Kerns Powers, David Sarnoff and NBC Consultant, Princeton, N.J.

1990

Hilmer Swanson, Harris Corporation, Broadcast Division, Quincy, Ill.

1989

William Connolly, Sony Advanced Systems, Montvale, N.J.

1988

Jules Cohen, Jules Cohen and Associates, Washington, D.C.

1987

Renville H. McMann, CBS Technology Center, Stamford, Conn.

1986

Dr. George Brown, RCA Laboratories, Princeton, N.J.

198

Carl E. Smith, Smith Electronics, Cleveland, Ohio

1984

Otis S. Freeman, WPIX, Inc., Tribune Broadcasting, New York, N.Y.

1983

Joseph Flaherty, Technology, CBS Inc., New York, N.Y.

1982

Julius Barnathan, Broadcast Operations and Engineering, American Broadcasting Companies, Inc., New York, N.Y.

1981

Wallace E. Johnson, Association for Broadcast Engineering Standards, Washington, D.C.

1980

James D. Parker, CBS Television Network, New York, N.Y.

1979

Robert W. Flanders, McGraw Hill Broadcasting Co., Inc., Indianapolis, Ind.

1978

John A. Moseley, President, Moseley Associates, Inc., Goleta, Calif.

1977

Daniel H. Smith, Capital Cities Communications, Inc., Philadelphia, Pa.

1976

Dr. Frank G. Kear, Consulting Engineer, Washington, D.C.

1975

John D. Silva, Golden West Broadcasters, Los Angeles, Calif.

1974

Joseph B. Epperson, Scripps Howard Broadcasting Co., Cleveland, Ohio

1973

A. James Ebel, KOLN TV, Lincoln, Neb.

1972

John M. Sherman, WCCO, Minneapolis, Minn.

197

Benjamin Wolfe, Post Newsweek Stations, Washington, D.C.

1970

Philip Whitney, General Manager, WINC, Winchester, Va.

1969

Jarrett L. Hathaway, NBC Television Network, New York, N.Y.

1968

Howard A. Chinn, CBS Television Network, New York, N.Y.

1967

Robert M. Morris, American Broadcasting Company, New York, N.Y.

1966

Carl J. Meyers, WGN Continental Broadcasting Co., Chicago, Ill.

1965

Edward W. Allen, Jr., Federal Communications Commission, Washington, D.C.

1964

John H. DeWitt, Jr., WSM, Inc., Nashville, Tenn.

1963

Dr. George R. Town, Iowa State University, Ames, Iowa

1962

Ralph N. Harmon, Westinghouse Broadcasting Co., New York, N.Y.

196

Raymond F. Guy, Consultant

1960

Commissioner T. A. M. Craven, FCC, Washington, D.C.

1959

John T. Wilner, Hearst Corporation, Baltimore, Md.